Back to top

Marlborough Primary School

Early Years

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

At Marlborough Primary School, we recognise that every child is unique. We understand that children develop in individual ways and at varying rates. We aspire for our children to be independent and self-motivated learners, encouraging the children to adapt their work, think critically and take risks with their learning.

Early Years education is the foundation upon which children build the rest of their lives. It is a crucial stage of life in terms of children's physical, intellectual, emotional and social development and well-being. At Marlborough, our aim is to make every child’s first experience of school a positive one and as happy, fun and enjoyable as possible. To do this we feel it is vitally important to build close relationships with parents and carers so that everyone works together for the good of the child.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) classes are made up of the nursery and reception classes. Here is the EYFS document, which is available at:

This document defines what we teach and details the specifics of our setting and school. The EYFS framework includes seven areas of learning and development, all of which are important and included in the curriculum taught.

There are three prime areas, which are seen to underpin all of the basics and support the other more specific areas of the curriculum.

The three prime areas are:

  • Communication and Language – children will be given lots of opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; to speak and listen in a range of situations.
  •  Physical Development – children will be provided with opportunities to be active and interactive; to develop their co-ordination, control and movement. Children will be taught the importance of physical activity and to make healthy choices in relation to food.
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development – help children develop a positive sense of themselves and others; forming positive relationships and develop respect for others; develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and have confidence in their own abilities.

There are also four specific areas of Learning and Development, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied:

  • Literacy – children will be taught to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children will be given access to a wide range of reading materials to ignite their interest.
  • Mathematics – children will be provided with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces and measures.
  • Understanding the World – Children will make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.
  • Expressive Arts and Design – Children will explore and play with a range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and technology.